Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition

Education is the essence of our societies, whose the flourishing and expansion rely on it. Eclectic models abound in the world’s educative panel, from countries such as Sweden and France funding the whole learning process to the United States well known for its liberalism when it comes to university's tuition fees. While universities should remain benchmarks of excellence, I strongly believe that nothing but academical competences can be yardsticks of a student entering one.

Charging fees without assaying the financial situation of applicants is discriminatory and perpetuates a despicable elitism in the educative system. Students aren't accountable for their poor surroundings, and the access to universities can't be limited to the parochial scope of financial resources. There is no reason for governments not to allow its citizens to slip out the best of their capabilities, as education is the key of social mobility. Otherwise, we would be ruled by a form of determinism. People should thus be free to choose the educational path that suit them and it resides in governments' duty to fulfil this requirement.

To recount from the statement, it is crucial to pinpoint that the author is in favour of a free university education provided a student qualifies for the conditions of eligibility, refuting then, most arguments against it. Such an ideal wouldn't result in a drop of standards, nor could students have the proclivity to less value it because of free, since it would be the continuity of years of stringent studies. For the most reluctant, one can imagine an onward monitoring, along the financial aid, to ensure that the tax isn't prodigally expended.

The funding of universities would benefit both students and the whole country. Security, healthcare as well as education, are long-time investments made by a government, whose consequences and fallouts are sprawling. They embody the core of a nation and are testament to the ability of its rulers to provide citizens with all the means conducive for their well-being and growth. Students growing in underprivileged environment are imbued with the cognizance of social and economic poverty. Thus, once they have culminated in their apotheosis through education, they are the most likely to contribute prodigious betterment to their community. Great doctors or professors, whom have benefited from such aid, might in return, give back to their country by means of additional taxes or valuable expertise.

Only one other institution has the muscle that would permit students to pursue his studies, banks. However, the loan system is a deterrent due to the astronomical interests. It doesn't encourage parents and children to take such a decision, and even when they do, students find themselves stuck in a vicious spiral between work to reimburse the bank, and courses that will permit them to have a job.