The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

The dichotomy risen by the author is best assayed when opponents compare their views in a rethorical way, but the litmus test of an argument can't be circomscribed to its ability to convince opposing viewpoints. While it is true that the expected outcome of arguments is often to convince people and it is essential in a country, within a family, and for the debate can be substantiated, to have contrasting positions, I believe that its ethos lies in enriching the debate, but not in proving to be true or in being believed in.

History has witnessed that any single view tends to benefit people having the political or economic muscle; whose significance is often distorted as there is no one to underline its loopholes. Arguments being only shared and defended amongst people whom are already in accordance with it, lack insight and mirror tyrannic states, judiciaries serving the mercenary interests. Additionally, harmful fallouts ensue, for the myopic debate between only the proponents of an idea would fuel a truth that is their perception, nay a vagary of their mind. Plato had thrown the light on this phenomenon by means of the Allegory of the Cave, where in, people who were chained to a wall had as unique truth their own shadows. Thus, people who convince each other of their factitious stances would be nothing more than an illusion.

In myriad scenarios, it is essential to note that a "my way or the highway approach" works little. The field of science, for instance, have its genesis within the confluence of past achievements and beliefs, and incipient techniques. The activists, politicians or speakers that were and are lauded are the ones who have been standing for an ideal in front of their supporters as well as their critics. However, the purpose of engaging in a debate with opposing viewpoints is to consolidate one's beliefs with the weakness of the counter arguments, but also at the risk, that our own ideals might turn to be false. It is therefore true that the best test of an argument would be for it to be compared to opposing viewpoints, but for the debate, the individuals and the nation, the benefits flowing from the process far outweigh the parochial scope of being right.

Only if in a conversation all parties are keenly ready to listen to each other, will an argument finds merits in his opponent's eyes. In this regard, the statement presents a limit embodied by the adage "You can lead a horse to water, but you can't force it to drink." While it is true that for most people, the heyday for an argument would be to be endorsed by his detractors, it is imponderable to ascertain its value contingently upon one who isn't ready to acknowledge it. The human mind's tendency of not being honest, but dogmatic, despite the cognizance of having been outsmarted or spellbound, often prevents arguments from being truly appreciated.

I strongly believe that the content prevails over the style, but as highlighted by the dialectics peculiar to politicians, for instance, the reasoning put forth often convinces people despite a lack of profundity. Machiavelli illustrated through the Prince that an argument was made to be malleable, especially when it comes to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint or whom is in a struggle of class. This process is a niche field of study in itself, calling into question the idea that the ultimate test of an argument is its ability to convince the dissenting opinion. One can't ignore that arguments' weight is, moreover, strengthens by the persona embodying it, and the speaker sometimes is more important than the idea itself. Thus, an argument being personified or used against its own goal might be deprived of its essence, negating the author's view.