“It is often asserted that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. In reality, however, formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Education is one of the most pivotal stage in a persons life. Education is what molds an individual into a citizen. The prompt puts forth the various perspectives of education. For a few people education is what liberated mind and spirit and for others it is what binds them. I strongly agree that education liberates the mind and spirit. My agreement is bolstered by the following points.

Firstly, it is during the schooling stage that a child develops from rudimentary stages. A students gets an overlook of various subjects and thus it broadens his/her perspective. The child can now get an overall perspective of a plethora of subject and carve his/her own niche. This helps the child understand himself from within and well as molds the child to a professional. Now a days, with the advent of technology jobs demand special skills .Formal education is a proven way to enhance those skills and hence certain jobs have specific degree requirements.

Secondly, one thing that education provides is accountability. Accountability is what inculcates responsibility. Formal education imparts accountability and responsibility. Accountability is what makes an individual responsible in a task they perform. This quality will later help the person throughout his career.

Thirdly, education also imparts subtler qualities such as punctuality, behavior, discipline to the individual. These qualities are very important in professional life. Education imparts these qualities which in no way tend to restrict an individuals mind and spirit.

One may argue that formal education restricts the thinking capacity. I absolutely agree to some extent but the benefits outweigh the cons. Arguably there are people who have reached apogees of their respective fields without formal education but statistically speaking educated people are overall having a better success rate. Hence this does not allow anyone to speak derisively on the value of education. To conclude, despite its flaws formal education enhances outlook of an individual rather than restraining his mind and spirit.