Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the article about Nature’s Way opening it’s new franchise store in the town of Plainesville, the author puts forth that the store will record high profitability. He states the examples of the success of previous stores of Nature’s way in other town with ‘healthy’ customers and the potential customers from nearby health club and school to bolster his argument. Although these points may represent a correlation , before the argument is evaluated the following questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the assertion that the towns where other Plainesville stores had ‘healthy’ customers holds no water. The author does not provide the reason to make the assertion that the customers were healthy. This point could be considered if it had empirical evidence. The author needs to provide a valid reason on what made the author to make the particular assertion.

Secondly, the generalization that the succcess of the franchise towns in other towns will lead to profitability in the Plainesville is flawed. It could be that customers at other cities and customers at Plainsville are different and such generalizatrions cannot be considered valid. Maybe, Plainesville town has other competitors who offer those goods at cheaper price and have acquired loyal customers over time. In such a case,Natures way at Plainesville town may not be able to repeat the success story.

Thridly, the assumption of the author that burgeoning members at the health club will lead to an increase in profitability in the store may not hold true. It could be that the health club has an alternate supplier of health products which may not lead to increase in sales at Nature’s Way. Or maybe the health club has cheaper alternatives compared to Natures way.

Lastly, the assumption of the author that new fitness programs incorporated in the schools will lead to an increase in sales does not hold water. Maybe the students don’t need those health products in order to participate in the fitness for life programs. It could be that students can attend those programs without those products or even if needed the schools have a robust alternate supply chain.

In conclusion, based on the above points the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed. Maybe, If the author can provide further clarity in the form of an empirical evidence the argument can be seriously considered.