The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Nature’s Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

“Previous experience has shown that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build our next new store in Plainsville, which has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville’s schoolchildren are required to participate in a ‘fitness for life’ program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.”

In the article about Nature’s Way opening it’s new franchise store in the town of Plainesville, the author puts forth that the store will record high profitability. He states the examples of the success of previous stores of Nature’s way in other town with ‘healthy’ customers and the potential customers from nearby health club and school to bolster his argument. Although these points may represent a correlation , before the argument is evaluated the following questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the assertion that the towns where other Plainesville stores had ‘healthy’ customers holds no water. The author does not provide empirical evidence that proves that customers are ‘healthy’. The author needs to provide what made the author to make the particular assertion.

Secondly, the generalization that the success of the franchise towns in other towns will lead to profitability in the Plainesville is flawed. Maybe Plainesville town has other competitors who offer those goods at cheaper price and have acquired loyal customers over time. In such a case, Plainesville town may not be able to repeat the success.

Thridly, the assumption of the author that burgeoning members at the health club will lead to an increase in profitability in the store may not hold true. It could be that the health club has an alternate supplier of health products which may not lead to increase in sales at Nature’s Way.

Lastly, the assumption of the author that new fitness programs incorporated in the schools will lead to an increase in sales does not hold water. Maybe the students don’t need those health products or the school may have arranged an alternate supplier.

In conclusion, based on the above points the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed. Maybe, If the author can provide empirical evidence the argument can be seriously considered.