The best way to teach whether as an educator employer or parent is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your

There are multiple ways to teach, however, is approving positive actions and ignoring negative ones the best option? It is difficult to agree and state that something is the best as it might be best for some while ineffective for others. Therefore, I would like to think that praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones is not the best way to teach someone. This is my belief for three main reasons. Firstly, if we ignore negative actions then the doer of that action does not learn why that action was malignant. Additionally, some times negative actions are done for good hence they should actually be praised depending on certain circumstances. Finally, praising someone for positive actions becomes a salary like incentive where one will not work if not paid.

To start with, ignoring negative actions, for majority of times, lead to the action being repeated. Without properly explaining to someone that an action was not a good one we will see that person repeat the same action again and not feel guilty. For example, when a student tries to cheat on their exam there are two things a teacher can do, let ignore their action or teach them that cheating is wrong. If the teacher follows the first option then the student will continue cheating as they will think that it is ok.

As I mentioned before, ignoring negative actions is disadvantageous, but I do think that there are some situations which require negative actions to be praised. A specific circumstance may arise where a being has to tell a white-lie. The white-lie might be that a family member was a in a car accident but fine; in this situation telling the truth and doing the "positive action" would do more harm then good and hence, the white-lie should be praised instead of being ignored.

Of course, praising someone for positive actions improves their motivation to work or repeat similar actions, but, wouldn't this teaching method become repetitive? If someone is praised iteratively for good actions then the praise will stop impacting them and loose value. This is similar to what happens when children receive too much praise from their parents. As time goes by the parents praise loose value and the child becomes disinterested in performing actions which would give them that praise. Thus, it would be fair to say that praising positive actions multiple times could lead to lower incentive to perform positive actions again.

While only praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones is not the best way to teach, there is fine line which should be followed depending on the circumstances. If the action is a great deed it should indeed be praised and if the action is malicious, then, rather than ignoring it proper punishment should be applied. This is mainly because ignoring negative actions leads to no change but welcomes similar actions, and depending on the circumstance and the action performed a negative action should be incentivized. Additionally, praising positive actions multiple times lowers the value of the praise and hence lead to lower motivation for repeating that action.