We venerate loyalty to our schools employers institutions friends as a virtue Loyalty however can be at least as detrimental an influence as it can be a beneficial one

To be loyal is very important in this day and age where trust can be hard to find. However, sometimes, loyalty can become a bad influence and lead to a darker path than one in which peace is found. Ofcourse, how a person is influenced by loyalty depends on the person themselves, but I like to agree with the statement that loyalty is atleast as detrimental an influence as it is a beneficial one. The three main reasons why I have that belief. The first reason is that loyalty can lead to blind trust. Next history has shown that loyalty always acts like two-sides of a coin. Finally, loyalty can cloud our ability to judge a person's character as time progress and they change.

The first reason why I believe that loyalty can be a negative influence as a beneficial is that at times when we are loyal to someone we forget about the true nature of humans. For example, take a workplace where an employee works for their employer with all their might; however, when time comes, and someone has to be chosen to take the credit the employer takes it for themselves. Why does this happen? In majority of the cases this sort of event happens because the employee is too loyal to the employer and does not notice that they are only being used. This is a perfect example of how the employer’s loyalty, while beneficial as it pays the employee’s salary, was a detrimental influence.

History has shown that loyalty can lead to blind trust especially during the time period where kings used advisors. In the past when advisors were appointed by the kings, the king’s trust in the advisors was completely blind. From various history books we know how smart king and advisor pairs like Akbar and Birbal improved their kingdoms. However, there are examples of other pairs in which the advisor was blindly trusted by the king and led the kingdom to ruins. History shows that depending on human nature loyalty of an advisor can at least as beneficial as it can be a detrimental of an influence.

The final reason why I believe that loyalty can be as negative of an influence as a positive one is that, as time progresses how disadvantageous or advantageous of an influence is loyalty changes. When we meet a new person, we are not loyal to them as they are strangers to us; however, as time progresses, and we get to know them the loyalty in between each other increases. This increase in loyalty clouds our ability to judge the changes in the other person's character overtime. Some people might stay good, while others might lead onto a more mischievous path; without proper judgement of a person's character we are easily influenced to do any task as we believe them to be the good and loyal person they were once before.

It is obvious that there are multiple examples of situations where loyalty comes with only benefits. These especially occur between people who have no ulterior motives or only wish for the good of you. However, there are also many people in the world who lack the ability to be a beneficial influence on you. This occurs mainly because loyalty clouds our ability judge people even when their nature changes, and loyalty makes us take blind trust in peoples’ words. As history shows even too much loyalty can act as two sides of a coin.