The following appeared in a petition presented by Classen University students to the school s administration The purpose of higher education is to prepare the student for the future but Classen students are at a serious disadvantage in the competition for

Recently the Classen University students presented that Classen University has a low post-college employment rate as compared to top-ranked schools due to burdensome breadth requirements. The students of this petition reached a conclusion that the University should cut back on its breadth requirements for free time to take advance courses related to the student's field. Regarding this the students present evidence to support the validity of their conclusion; however, the weak evidence is based on aimless comparisons, unjustified assumptions and weak evidence hence making it difficult to go forward with the presented conclusion.

In the petition the students compare the post-employment rates of Classen with top ranked schools. Is this a fair comparison? There might be multitude of factors which separate top-ranked schools from Classen University. For this unjustified comparison to have merit it must face many questions. These include: "Are the student admission rates for Classen and top schools the same?", "Whether the entrance difficulty of for Classen is the same as top ranked schools?" or "Does the problem lie with students?".

As well as aimless comparisons the author presents weak evidence, which does not show that post-employment rate are lower due to lack of freedom to take advance courses in respective student's specialized field. The students assume that because their schedule does not contain advance courses in their fields, they are not getting employment. However, a question that must be asked is whether students who are not getting employed are qualifiable for the job or have internship experience? It could be that most students at Classen are lacking the real-world experience through internships and hence are being rejected the job opportunities.

Similar to the aforementioned argument flaws, another unjustified assumption that the students state is that Classen students would be more attractive to employers if they were to take advance courses. The students present no statistic or experimented proof that students with the advance courses are more likely to get the job over students who took the breadth courses. The authors need to answer the question "Are more students with advance courses facing less challenges to get a job?" to be able to fully support their argument that students with advance courses are more attractive to employers.

Despite the unjustified assumptions, and weak correlations; if sufficient evidence is presented then student’s conclusion might have some merit. If the student body were to show statistically that employers prefer students with advance courses over breadth courses or that Classen is comparable to top-ranked schools in terms of admission difficulty, ranking and fees then only the presented conclusion can gain some integrity to have some merit.

Till the students present aimless correlations, unjustified assumptions, and weak evidence it will stay difficult to proceed with their proposed conclusion. Thus, to procced with the suggested conclusion more and stronger evidence is required by the student body.