Claim It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero Reason The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

Being a hero depends on your personality and charisma, and as people get famous more spotlight is cast on their them by media, leading to the hero's being scrutinized. However, does this mean that the scrutiny will always lead to the hero's reputation being diminished? I believe not, since, the type of effect scrutiny has on someone depends on the action that is being scrutinized. Additionally, while media scrutiny is faced by all people that become famous it does not mean that it is no longer possible for society to regard a living being as a hero. For a person's reputation to be diminished their actions must be negative in some way.

Scrutiny from media can be misleading in many ways; however, this does not mean that the action being scrutinized is good or bad for their reputation. Let's take recent events with the movie star's Shah Rukh Kahn's son Aaryan Khan, who was caught with drugs on a cruise. Aaryan Khan's actions were bad for himself and his father leading to a lot of scrutiny from media and denting his famous father's reputation. While Shah Rukh Khan's was not involved himself, his upbringing of the child was judged and his status from hero hood questions. Contrast to this situation, in 2020 the actions of a Bollywood actor were scrutinized by media for being good; depicting him as a true hero for helping the poor during Covid. From these two scenarios we see that depending on the action the media scrutiny faced by someone may improve their reputation or diminish it. Of course just because there is scrutiny it does not mean that there is no one who can become a hero.

As aforementioned, scrutiny can be both positive and negative and the effect it has on someone's reputation depends on the person's actions. As we saw above, the Bollywood actor who was scrutinized for their impressive assistance to people during Covid did become a hero for the people. Even though each of their actions were questioned by media and read into, people were still considering the person a hero. Thus, it goes to show that even with scrutiny it is still possible to become a hero as it depends on their actions rather than the media's portrayal of the being.

Since a person's reputation is in the hands of media is is inevitable that they will face scrutiny for their actions; however, this does not mean that we can no longer have hero's in our society. Regarding someone a hero depends on their the type of actions they perform over the how media will show them to the public.