Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning f

Government officials are placed on their job in order to provide services for the county, state or nation which they serve and its people. While it makes sense for government officials to base their decisions on their own judgement rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people, I think that the proper answer lies on the situation it is applied to. Firstly, if officials were to rely solely on their judgement for passing of a law it could possibly lead to revolts.

Despite it making sense that government officials should rely only on their own judgement, this could possibly lead to revolts by the public. For example, let's say that the government officials in charge of deciding whether to allow Homosexual Marriage decline the bill and neglect the people's will. This would lead to revolts, a disadvantageous situation, by homosexual activists creating a less democratic nation and hindering the freedom rights. Of course, if the decision came after much deliberation between the officials and government then revolts can be avoided and a different, more accepted, decision could be passed instead which would be advantageous.

Additionally, there are situations where government officials should rely solely on their own judgement. For instance, if a city is to receive a new school or a new park, and the people of the city want a new park then, then the government official, a mayor, should take the decision based on their own judgement. Since, the people of the city might not know how bad the current school structure and there might be parks in the city which were recently built, therefore the mayor should act only based on their on judgement of what can improve the city. If the mayor had decided to listen to the people's will unquestioningly then it could have lead to no improvement in education sector of the city leading to worse economic conditions for the city.

Over all, based on the situation and circumstances government officials should be take their decisions on their own or with the peoples' will taken into account. Since, some decisions for the people require the peoples' thoughts and emotions while other do not.