The following appeared in a petition presented by Classen University students to the school’s administration.

The purpose of higher education is to prepare the student for the future, but Classen students are at a serious disadvantage in the competition for post college employment due to the university’s burdensome breadth requirement. Classen’s job placement rate is lower than placement rates of many top-ranked schools. Classen students will be more attractive to employers if they had more time to take advanced courses in their specialty, rather than being required to spend fifteen percent of their time at Classen taking courses outside of their subject area. We demand therefore, that the university abandon or drastically cut back on its breadth requirements.

The author assumes cutting down on breadth requirement is the sure way to improve on the current rate of job placement of Classen University. He also assumes that the other schools which the author views as top-ranked do not have courses that are taken outside students’ subject areas. The argument when viewed at first glance seems cogent but there are a lot of considerations to be made to make it reasonable.

To begin with, the burdensome breadth requirement was only stated to be fifteen percent of studies outside subject area. It is reasonable to think this percentage is not so huge to cause the disadvantage the students report. The actual cause of the disadvantage can be something different if the matter is searched into properly. The claim that top-ranked schools have higher job placement rate than Classen university was not backed by any prove nor was the source of the report mentioned.

Also, the statement made about abandoning or cutting back on breadth requirement is not the sure way to cause a change. Another alternative can be deliberated upon or a several alternatives can be weighed first to check the most reasonable and result oriented one. To add to the above, it was not stated that the other schools did not have breadth requirements. Besides that, the exact thing the school did to be recognized as a top school and to have a high rate of job placement was not searched into either. The other schools might have had additional hours for practical work; they might have been encouraged to enrol in vacation training in the companies they are likely to work.

Additionally, it was mentioned that the other schools were top-ranked; this may not be so. The type of school Classen University is making comparison to, may be too different and non-comparable. The type of school will show the type of job placement its students get. If the category of school is mentioned and when it is made clear that they are comparable, the matter can be better dealt with.

To better make this argument lucid, certain questions need to be answered first. Considering the credibility of the report, finding out the actual cause of the lower job placement rate, finding out what the other schools did differently to be ranked top-ranked will go a long way to make better conclusions.