The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument presented thrives on the assumption that by reducing operating cost, the chain of stores will reverse the decline in profit. The owner also believes that since the stores are famous for special bargains, raising rentals should not be considered. The argument when viewed at first glance can make a lot of sense but when thought of critically, it is not cogent enough. There a few questions to be answered to drive the point home.

To begin with, the owner did not state what caused the decline in the profits. If this question is answered promptly, an alternative decision can be considered. For instance, finding out that customer service dwindled will call for another action altogether. The employees will be talked to or if possible trained to have a better customer services skills.

Also, the particular store that faced the decline of profit was not stated neither was it stated that it was all the ten stores. If it was just one of them, the solution can be meted out on just that store and not necessarily all ten stores. Aside that, cues from the other stores as to how they go by their services can be used by the particular store with marginalized profit.

To add to the above, by answering the question of what the customers actually like about the store will help to decide if raising prices is that much of a bad idea. Perhaps, it might be that what the customers really like is that they come in are able to get movies from different years and not just current movies. Or perhaps they enjoy the customer service. Finding out about what they really like about the store will help the decision making a lot. Not to mention that, prices could be raised but be made reasonably and still be able to compete with the other stores of the same kind.

Additionally, by answering whether the changes made in the store at downtown Marston made a good impact will help. More time could be given to check how badly it affects that store or how better profits will be made. It might be possible that it would work for that store but does not necessarily mean the same will produce good results in the other stores. That is why finding out the main causes of the decline in profit will be a good advantage. Aside that removing stocks from five years back might be a very bad idea. If customers of varied ages patronize the store because they get movies from different years, removing stock from five years back will also be a mistake.

The decision made by the owner of the chain of stores should not be rushed. A lot of answers will need to be attained to finally stem on that decision. Besides, he might lose customers for closing early, increasing prices may be a good thing and still be able to compete for customers with his competitors.