In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favourite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument given, Mason City plans to invest an amount of money for cleaning their water bodies as a sure way of increasing the use of the water bodies for recreational facilities. The author assumes that the quality of the water body was not of the best due to the little budget apportioned for the maintenance of the water bodies and also assumes people stopped patronizing in water sports because of lack of maintenance.

First of all, the statistics that the residents of Mason City enjoy water sports was not credible, as the source of the research was not stated. It could have been by somebody’s observation which may not have been objective enough or it could be a research carried in some parts of the city which is not a direct representation of the whole city. It could also be it was a passing interest that seemed like a trend. The people might have interest in other sports better than water sports which reduces the likelihood of the increase in patronage.

Also, as time goes on, the interest of certain groups of people may change. An important factor is the weather. If it happens the budget is increased to ensure quality of the water bodies in say November through to February where the weather is cold, it would be a waste of money - nobody will set foot there. Other factors can be taken note; for instance, the number of youth in the city declined or the number of children declined or perhaps again the adults engage in different activities because of busy schedules. All these affect the rate at which such a facility will be used. Perhaps another survey should be conducted to find out the recreational activity the residents will enjoy first to be sure they still have interest in water sports.

Additionally, it is stated that complaints come from the residents about the poor quality of the water and the smell. It is possible the money for maintaining will not have to increase. It may be that the people in charge do not carry out their duties well and that resulted in the poor quality water bodies. That could also have resulted because people patronized it less often and so they did not see the need to keep maintaining it. The state can make sure the right care is being given even with the little money before investing more into it to make sure the increase is really needed.

The argument seems cogent but when thought about critically, there are a lot of things to be dealt with before the assurance of the increase in patronage can be firm. This includes the bases on statistics of the interest of the residents. Not to talk of the weather at the particular point in time, the cause of the decline in the quality of water, and the alternative for solving the issue.