Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Corporations are business entities owned by more than one person so decision making is somewhat complex. Expecting a corporation to solely promote wellbeing of a society is not fair since they indirectly do that anyways as well as expecting it to only make money seem more of an exploitation request. The two go hand in hand and should not be exclusively expected.

To begin with, since these corporations employ citizens of the society, they are promoting the wellbeing of the society. It ensures that the people get earns meat and are able to cater for themselves and the family. It benefits the society at large since people who are employed get to pay tax for the development of the society. Also, they offer services and invariably benefit the society. The society cannot do without the services provided by such business entities and even if that need is not basic, people come to benefit from it anyways. Taking for instance law firms; they are not needed as basic requirements for individuals but they are refuges for people who come to need it one way or the other. Aside that, corporations make contributions to the society in terms of development and the level of standard of living. The number of them in a society can affect the life of the society. In terms of infrastructure they provide parking and somewhat beautify the environment with their buildings.

Even so, it cannot be refuted that corporations make money off of us no matter what. The more they offer services to the society, the more money they tend to get and the more they are recognized, they more people patronize and believe in the quality of their services. Consequently, their rates increase and their money keep coming. Although, this is the case most of the time, policies they are required to follow, limit the height of exploitation they can engage in which is a good thing. And the good part is that they go by or abide by the law as the assertion states. If they do, it is to the benefit of all.

However, stating that their sole responsibility is the wellbeing of the society may seem outrageous. The above paragraph shows that, without even considering the wellbeing of the society, corporations do take care of the society indirectly. Requiring the wellbeing alone may seem that it is expedient of every corporation to make donations toward say orphaned children or homeless children. Maybe expecting them to sponsor events, offer scholarships to needy students or even give financial aid to its employees that intend to go back to school. Even though all these are very good, it seems a bit extraneous to require them from corporations. They can go by their daily duties and offer to do one of these things but should not be compulsory.

The assertion presented makes a lot of sense but taking one and leaving the other does not seem good enough. They should not be exclusive requirements and neither should be made compulsory. So far as for instance manufacturing firms do not pollute the environment we live in with by products and waste and go by their daily routines, they should be fine. And if they go by the law and invariably make significant contributions, all these requirements should not be forced.