The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of Movies Galore has suggested the reduction in operating expenses of his store as a sure way to realize an increase in profit. He assumes that raising the rental prices will further decline the profits. Even though at first glance the argument seems viable, there are questions to be answered to make it more reasonable and pellucid.

First of all, the most important question to ask is; has the main cause of the decline in profit been identified? Finding out about the main cause will lead to making informed decisions that will actually solve the problem. Speculating that reducing operating cost is the sure way, is not logical. For instance, finding out that the operating expenses is too high that it does not tally the profit made or the store is not able to break even, will make the argument stronger.

Also, the argument did not state that profits increased after Marston decreased its operating cost. The only information that was given about Marston store was that they changed their scheduled closing time from 9:00 p.m to 6:00 p.m and that they eliminated some stock from five years ago. The question to ask is how this helped the store and how it is going to help the other chain of stores. Using only a month to judge the success of the store is not good enough. If the changes carried out benefited the store in question and the allowed time to check progress was more than a month, success can be a forecast for the other stores.

In addition, reducing scheduled closing time does not seem like a good idea. The owner should ask if the customers they would be loosing during the hours that the store would be closed will not rather affect their profit. Would it not in turn affect the reliability of the store and as well make the store loose its customers to other stores? It is in answering this with enough information, will this decision be cogent.

To add to the above, if the owner is sure that the reduction in operating expense will not affect the quality of the service they render, then the argument will be deemed logical. Even with that an information on how to keep the quality, satisfy customers and at the same time reduce operation expense will be needed. Stating that the company has a reputation of reduced prices is good but the owner can think about it that an increment can be made on the prices in a way that customers will be okay with.

It is in answering the above questions, will the argument make more sense and have resolute base to reduce operating cost and scheduled closing time.