We venerate loyalty – to our schools, employers, institutions, friends – as a virtue. Loyalty, however can be at least as detrimental an influence as it can be a beneficial one.

A lot of things are classified as virtue and loyalty is one of them, among others like courtesy, respect and patience. Loyalty combines all the stated virtues; it makes a person dependable, reliable, faithful and likable. Regarding the elderly, authority, fellow friends and family is all that it takes even though it sounds difficult. I do not support the assertion that it can be more detrimental than beneficial. Although there are two sides to everything, the good outweighs the bad in this instance.

First of all, loyalty instills peace and good relationship between authority and persons and in different levels of interpersonal relationships. How peace is resulted can be demonstrated by adhering to instructions from authority and being responsible to carry out duties. When an employee is scheduled for work at a particular time; and the employee does well to always go by it, it makes the person loyal. Such a person never gets into a dispute with the superiors; therefore, consequently bringing peace and a good relationship. Another instance where two friends are involved, regarding and respecting each other, tolerating each other, being dependable to each other and remaining faithful, goes a long way to solidify the friendship.

Also, most religions encourage individuals to be loyal, not only to their object of worship but to practise that on their fellow beings. Aside religious bases or didactic values, it is socially regarded as a necessity which often starts with being polite – it moves on to being courteous and then to being respectful. Any time an individual breaches over loyalty, standards put in place to correct the person is put into action and it varies from one place to the other. In a typical African home, loyalty especially toward the elderly is a must.

Consequently, when one is loyal to others, it sets that person apart. Everybody feels safe to be around a loyal person. People easily learn from you and try to reciprocate the loyalty you give them. Again, people feel honoured to be treated in that manner and as a result, you win favour from them. They try to learn from you and even the elderly feels comfortable to open up to you as well as occasionally, confide in you. An African proverb that goes like” when a child knows how to relate to the elderly, he or she is allowed to dine with them ” shows the importance of loyalty.

However, the other side of loyalty can be distasteful - in the sense that some devious ones turn to trample upon your right and exercise excessive authority on you. They take advantage of the loyalty you show and hurt you knowingly and sometimes unknowingly. They do not readily reciprocate the way you treat them and push you to the point where you are no longer nice but rather pugnacious.

Even though, there are instances where being loyal does not pay off; like being taken advantage of, it brings peace, starts and maintain good relationships. It sets individuals apart making them better people and at the long run, they gain favours.