The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Therefore, I recommend that we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program of our own. If we do so, I predict that our profits will also see a significant increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument presented state that there have been a decline in patronage of Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions despite the increase in advertisement. The author assumes that when the Shakespeare in the park' program is organized in the summer, it will be a sure way to increase their profits and since it worked for Avon Repertory Company, it was going to work for the other company too. The argument when viewed at first glance seem reasonable and cogent but when thought about critically, it is not.

First of all, the actual cause of the decline in patronage was not stated. If Classical Shakespeare production carried out a survey to find out why the audience were not patronizing and then made the decision of organizing the outdoor program, it would have made a lot more sense. It could also be that the cause of the reduction in profit was from too much money that was invested in advertising. It could also be that the advertising was not successful due to how it was made - the time the broadcasted it, the kind of advertising the did and whether it communicated to the prospected audience.

Also, considering to go by the situation like Avon company did two years ago is not logical. It is not stated in the argument that Avon Company had a decline in patronage and that was the reason for organizing their program. Besides that modeling their success to something that occurred two years ago is a long time - a lot may have changed especially when it comes to the interest of audience. The source of the report is not stated, that there was a ten percent increase in the other company's sales. It cannot be trusted just like that.

Additionally, the cost of organizing an outdoor program was not considered as it will mean more money will leave the company. An alternative could be to change their product and service for short while to see the improvement and of course that would be after a cost effective survey. Aside trying to emulate what Avon Repertory company did, did they consider the additional things they did to see an increase in their profit?

The recommendation seems like a good idea but several questions have to be asked. Has the interest of the audience changed, what are we not doing right, what exactly was the reason behind Avon company organizing a program like that, how much will have to be invested in organizing, etc? After answering all these will the argument become cogent.