The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented thrives on the following assumptions; Dr. Karp’s research refutes that of Dr. Field because he used the observation-centered approach, the interview-centered approach is accurate, and that the children from Tertia are reared by their parents other than the entire village. At first glance, these evidences may seem logical and without question but when it is viewed critically, there are some flaws in there.

First of all, Dr Karp’s interview was not done exclusively on children from Tertia but on the children living in groups on the island. The number of Tertian children was not mentioned and it cannot be concluded that, that number was a representative of the children from Tertia. Interviewing children from different groups can affect results because every group may have their own way of doing things which could be totally different from another group.

Also, the kind of questions the interviewers asked could be the reason for the conclusion drawn. If the interviewer asked questions concerning their parents, of course they would talk about their parents but if he did ask general questions regarding who takes care of them and that sort, the answers they would get would also be different.

Furthermore, in no part of the argument was the different research approaches fully defined. Aside that, how the researches were carried out by both parties was not fully given. The different approaches could all be accurate depending on how they were carried out and how objective the researcher is. Besides that, the argument states that Dr Field’s research was done twenty years ago which is a long time for a lot of things to happen and change. If we consider that Dr Karp’s research was done well and his results are impeccable, he could consider that the lifestyle of the people may have changed over the years.

The argument cannot be viewed as logical because the number of children interviewed might not have been a representative of the number of children in the village. As well as, the questions asked might have resulted in the conclusion drawn and the accuracy of the different approaches are not firm.