True beauty is found not in the exceptional but in the commonplace.

True beauty can be viewed in several ways. I agree to some extent that beauty can be found in the commonplace but I do not rebut that it can be found in the exceptional either. Beauty depends on the person viewing, what the person is looking out for and what the person gets to see at the end.

First of all, the assertion states that beauty is not found in the exceptional but when viewed in certain ways, it can be refuted. Beauty can be found in knowledge and this is made evident by geniuses. Geniuses in Arts like Leonardo da Vinci and geniuses in Science like Einstein and Isaac Newton exhibit beauty in a variety of ways. Consider the works of Leonardo da Vinci such as the Mona Lisa in museums that is seen in the Art world as a classic and a master piece. They are especially marvelled at how the painting shows life in the eye – it is an exhibition of the beauty of art. And not to talk of another work he did that is the painting of the Lord’s Supper in a Roman cathedral. Einstein and Isaac Newton are also geniuses that would forever be remembered for bringing out the beauty in Science; the invention of light bulb by Einstein and the formulation of theories of motion and relativity in Physics by Isaac Newton. Till date, people take inspiration from their work to bring out innovative ideas for projects. They exhibit the beauty of science.

Additionally, beauty can be found in the exceptional when things occur or are done out of the ordinary. Dubai is said to be the most beautiful manmade place because it is made to be extraordinary. Artificial islands, nice shopping centers, and sceneries are telling that beauty can be found in the exceptional. People in the Guinness book of record show the beauty of doing things out of the ordinary and having things out of the normal – in turn bring out the beauty in the exceptional.

However, beauty can also be found in the commonplace. The number one thing that shows beauty in the commonplace is nature. Plants, animals and natural sceneries bring out beauty. National Geography and Planet Earth are television documentaries that forecast unadulterated sceneries in the world. Ranging from the creatures and the life in the rainforest to that in the desert, it cannot be refuted that the commonplaces can bring out beauty. If rainforest and the desert seem far-fetched, observe the nature around you. Variety of plants and flowers, squirrels that hover around during summer to collect nuts and food, birds that fly in the skies are all demonstrations of beauty in its natural sense. The variety that it comes with makes it more pleasant.

Beauty in the commonplace can be seen in humans. The peculiarity of every individual including eye colour, body stature, complexion and height makes beauty diverse. Moving away from the appearance, beauty is seen in the behaviour of people and the way they interact. When a stranger shows a nice attitude toward you by smiling and speaking politely, the person shows another kind of beauty. In terms of behaviour also, the Native Americans are said to show beauty in the way they showed love by sharing whatever little they had and did things together. It is not surprising that their unity was their stronghold. When you see the way a mother cares for her child and the love she spreads over the child, it exhibits another form of beauty in a commonplace.

Also the intricacies of certain things we overlook can be classified as beauty in commonplace. Recently, an eyeglass that sees very minute things was invented incorporating the way microscopes work. It reveals the things the eye cannot see and it is marvelling how beautiful the detail of even the structure of a fly and that of a bee is. The detail of the embroidery on your sheet to the detail of a leaf are all evidences of beauty in the commonplace.

Beauty found in knowledge, in the extraordinary, in nature, in human behaviour and in the intricacies of things concludes that beauty is not just found in the exceptional, but can be found in the commonplace as well.