As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has made a lot of changes in the world we live in now. It is evident when you compare years back and now. The proliferation of electronic gadgets, the convenience they come with and the sophistication it makes our lives. Technology for no doubt has done a lot of good and that does not mean it has not done any bad at all - it has but the good outweighs the bad. I do not agree to the assertion that the ability of humans to think will deteriorate.

First of all, for more than one reason, technology teaches us every day and we tend to learn consciously and unconsciously. New things keep coming up, our way of life keep changing and the only option is to get the know-how and then move on from there. Compare the use of ATM machines to going to the bank; this is a technology almost everyone knows how to use and it was by learning. Consider the use of the internet to search for information; it was by learning. Not to talk of the benefits it comes with when it comes to knowledge, sharing ideas and getting the know-how of simple tasks. Today people study and school online and this does not deteriorate humans to think, but does the opposite.

Also, due to technology and conversely the sharing of innovative ideas, cure for a lot of diseases have been realised. The diseases we used to hear in the earlier years that were killing thousands of people are not heard of today. In Africa, due to the climate, malaria was a killer disease that was caused by the parasite of female anopheles mosquito. Hardly will you hear that someone died of malaria today. In the past years also, mortality rate for babies was high due to the six killer baby diseases but today because of immunizations and vaccines, babies are healthy. This does not end there; as time goes on, the advent of technology allows humans to do more research to look into diseases that keep coming up.

Additionally, technology has made our lives better; we carry out tasks effectively, efficiently, and conveniently. Our everyday lives are filled with the use of technology which makes are lives much better than it was years ago. And all these require the use of the brain to carry them out. A general outlook of a day in a person’s life today will include the use of an alarm to wake up on time, the use of electricity to heat water either for taking shower or taking breakfast, calling a relative or friend with a cell phone, travelling or moving about in an automobile, listening or reading something on the internet, just to mention a few. When we move out of the general life, we use GPS today for navigating, we entertain ourselves with electronic gadgets etc.

However, someone may argue that technology has made us lazy and unhealthy but that is countered by the new cures and solutions that come up each day. One may also say that technology has taken over jobs from humans but that is also countered by humans learning everyday to do things differently, efficiently and effectively. Another person will argue that our lives have become complex but it is a fact that our lives have also gotten better and convenient. If some other person says it is difficult to keep up with the world today, it goes back to the point that we are forced to learn everyday which in no way deteriorate our thinking.

Technology has its pros and cons but I know and believe technology has come to stay and there’s no way the thinking of humans is deteriorating with this fast pace of creativity and innovation.