“Scientific theories, which most people consider as ‘fact,’ almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should look upon any information described as ‘factual’ with skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your viewpoint, consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

In the late 1800’s, when the scientific community thought most scientists had reached a road block, a scientist was able to come up with an experiment to prove quantum physics. His experiment confirmed that light could behave as a particle by interfering constructively. The notion that scientific theories are proven inaccurate at certain points in times and so should not be considered factual is partly true. I agree to some extent and disagree to some extent as well.

Most scientific theories are deemed factual when they are proven by certain instances in life. Consider the three laws of Newton; the first law reveals that when a body is at rest or is already in motion, it takes an externally applied force to set it in motion or stop it from being in motion. This theory can be related to real life events so is instantly deemed factual. An example is a ball which can be set in motion and can be stopped once it is rolling. Consider also, the third law that reveals that action and reaction are equal and opposite. This also can be easily related to real life such as pulling on a string which requires force from someone pulling and the resistance of the string to the applied force.

Also, when Mrs. Curie and her husband first discovered radioactivity, they did not know it was harmful and at the same time helpful. Later revelations of the effect of causing cancer and assuaging cancer showed that what they found was true and the theory behind it was factual. This also boils down to the fact that when it is related to real life, it is deemed factual.

In addition, the Doppler effect can be stated as a factual scientific theory as it is experienced in everyday life. The sound of oncoming vehicles, that is vehicles approaching something as well as vehicles that move further from us such as ambulance are heard in different variations and confirm the Doppler effect. When a tuning fork is brought close to a pendulum, it also exhibits Doppler.

Conversely, the theory that the earth is a flat surface was refuted years back and now proven to be round. A theory of this sort which does not relate to real life events is hard to believe and can be viewed with skepticism. In the beginning years when the theory of the earth being flat was refuted, it was not a surprise that the new theory was not believed either. Until the invent of satellites, this theory was not deemed factual. Launching of satellites into space did a lot of good to mankind by revealing a whole new world.

To support the above assertion, the theory of evolution is viewed with scepticism because the proof has not been related well enough to life events.

While some scientific theories can be factual, others could be inaccurate depending on how the theory is proven. I partly agree to the assertion that scientific theories should be viewed with scepticism considering the theory of evolution and the theory of the earth being flat. Neither of them were evident enough by what we usually observe. I also disagree to some extent considering scientific theories such as the Newton’s theory of motion, doppler effect and radioactivity that were well proven by relating to the things that are normally observed in the environment.