“Question authority. Only by accepted wisdom can we advance our understanding of the world.”

Questioning authority is frowned upon by many societies. In the past, it was even punishable but now people are allowed to voice out their concerns. Accepted wisdom come in many forms including tradition and shared knowledge. The above assertion states that we can advance in our understanding of knowledge only by accepted wisdom - I do not agree.

First of all, accepted wisdom is mostly limited. Accepting changes mostly goes a long way to positively cause effects and cause insight. In the study of the world, many discoveries are made that are out of the ordinary. Researchers will not be able to embrace the abnormality of the things they see if they only go by accepted wisdom.

In support of the above, the limitation that comes with accepted knowledge dwindles the objectivity of individuals. At the long run discovery is also hindered. Advancement in understanding the world has been seen in recent years because maverick scientists and researchers were open to new things. There are many theories in different areas of study that have been established. Tremendous things have been made with these theories which include theories of matter, electricity, electromagnetism, sociology, just to mention a few. Even though certain things are achieved when references are made from the past knowledge it does not have to end up clouding the judgement of whoever is involved.

Also when one compares the previous years to now, the changes that we see is because accepted wisdom was not made to be dogmatic. Humans did not stick to the knowledge of old but strived to make more meaning out of what is seen and heard. Being able to view the earth to be round was out of a lot of studies, objectivity and curiosity. Now satellites are launched into space for telecommunication purposes which could not have been thought of by a man in the 1500’s. Changes in technology; the use of internet to share information, food; fighting starvation by agricultural engineering, health; cure of killer diseases and infections, transport; man being able to fly and so many more would not have been achieved if man stuck to the accepted wisdom.

One may argue that, regarding the accepted wisdom and giving veneration to authority is the most important thing to do. It is a fact that many geniuses had to go against authority and the norms to come out with breath-taking inventions.

The hidden truth about knowledge can be accepted when we go beyond what is generally accepted. That can be done out of curiosity; accepting changes for more insight, being objective, and embracing things the way they are.