The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Teaching comes to everyone in one way or the other. No matter how old you are, you do not cease to learn and people do not cease to teach you. Teaching could be in the formal sense and the informal and mostly when it is formal, a lot of things come into play. The assertion recommends teaching to be done with praises for good actions and ignorance of the bad ones. I do not fully agree to that.

First of all, it cannot be refuted that it is good to praise positive actions. When a good behaviour or positive action is praised, the student realizes that his act is recognized and so strive to do more another time. Aside the joy that surges through the person no matter how old, is priceless. It also serves as an example to others indirectly when it is done in the open for people to see. The best instance is when a student does so well in an exam, and is called out during a social gathering to be celebrated and awarded. It creates an inner competition for other students to perform as well which is a healthy competition of course.

Even so, it does not mean negative actions should be ignored. Depending on the severity of the negative action, it can go unpunished. When a young person does a bad thing that he is not aware of, it can be brought to his notice. The individual can be advised and then given a chance to repent from that act, if not, the next time, it should not go unpunished. Consider stealing for example; when a child steals for the first time, that action can go unpunished. The child can be advised and then given the chance to repent. In a school setting, a teacher may be in a class teaching a subject. A child might pass a funny comment after the teacher has told the class to be quiet and then concentrate on the study material. Such an act can go unpunished depending on the teacher and how patient he is. The teacher may decide to punish the student to deter the others from repeating but may be just a mild punishment as kneeling down or standing until the class session ends. When serious negative actions go unpunished, it results in irresponsible kids who grow up to be irresponsible adults. Actions like bullying, fighting, disrespecting another person based on minority status like ladies or disabled people. Acts of that sort should be dealt with.

Also, there are instances where a teacher can be flexible to understand the student or learn from the student. If a teacher does not know a student have a special condition so tend to punish the student because he is not concentrating in class, that teacher will be deemed impatient. When teaching, punishment should not be the go to way to deal with issues. A story of a father who beat the child mercilessly for marking his car with a stone can be an example. The man took the child to the hospital for treatment only to later realize that the child wrote “I love you, dad” on the car. Cases like this occur when we are impatient with people and the way they act.

The assertion presented is important but when taking such an advice, some thought should be given. Praising positive actions is very good but should not be done at the expense of ignoring negative ones. And then instances where a negative action is to be punished, care should be taken so that things are not taken overboard.