The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and su

Learning is part and parcel of human life. It is always mentioned in various books that "A man/ woman should never stop learning, no matter how old he/ she is". Everyone around us teach us something or the other in some or the other way. The statement made above states that the Best way to teach someone is to praise the good habits and ignore the bad ones.

When we look back to our childhood, the student years of our life, we remember our teachers, their teachings, rewards and sometimes punishments as well. Punishments have been a vital part in order to improve students' behavior. However, some of these scare the students. On the other hand, remembering the rewards we received due to proper conduct in school makes us happy. Thus, it is highly recommended for teachers to praise the positive actions of students. Many times, the bad actions, like chattering in class, are done to attract attention of the whole class. Students doing such acts are the one's who do not receive and attention and want to seek, no matter what. Ignoring such activities, will definitely lessen the amount of mischievous activities in school.

It is however important to circumscribe a definite distinction between the positive and negative actions. As for example, a teacher might ignore small things like talking in class, which do not do any physical harm to the neighboring students, but he/ she cannot directly ignore strong fights between students in classrooms, canteens etc. Ignoring such activities would lead to increase in tendency of students to fight. Physical fights, abusive language, and many acts of such ilk cannot be ignored. Let's take an example of the most common fable we are told in childhood. There was once a boy who used to steal pens from his classmates. His teacher and mother ignored this habit of his and didn't mind. It developed in the mind of the boy that stealing things is not a bad habit and everyone ignores, if you steal something from someone. Boy, in this fable, turned out to be an experienced thief after growing up. He was caught by police and sentenced to jail. His mother then regretted her ignorance to her child's activities in childhood. Hence it can be said that directly ignoring negative activities without any thought can turn out to be harmful for student's future.

Summing up, I agree with the fact that on should praise positive habits but should not directly ignore the negative ones. The negative actions should be properly defined as to not harm anyone physically.