The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake Houserestaurants."Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little imp

The memorandum of the business manager claims that the use of margarine instead of butter has not affected their customers, and only 2 percent of the whole have complained. The business manager based on this premise concludes that the customers do not know to distinguish between butter and margarine or the vernacular of many people have 'butter' as the term for margarine. The conclusion seems to be fair at first glance but has certain flaws that undermine the conclusion.

First and foremost, the business manager received complaints from only 2 percent of customers, and he hence concludes that the remaining 98 percent are happy with the change. However, the conclusion seems to be made in a haphazard manner without giving much thought to the fact that the company actually did not receive any kind of feedback from the 98 percent. It might have had happened that some of these didn't get time to raise a complaint about the change, or some might be unaware of the fact that a complaint system exists in the first place. The business manager should get a feedback from all the customers, whether they are happy or not, in order to conclude this statement. A good and working feedback system should be installed to cater to all the needs and demands of the customer.

The second important factor that the business manager needs to consider, is the current base of customers that the Happy Pancake House caters to. There is not a single statement mentioning the same. The factor of 2 percent will seem considerable if the number of customers is few. Hence the good amount of thought needs to be given to this factor.

Another factor that needs to be considered is the kind of customers Happy Pancake House has, the age group, the economic strata and many factors of this ilk. It might have had happened that the customers were unable to differentiate between the two tastes of butter and margarine, due to their old age, or the customers might be too young to identify the difference. There is another possibility that the customer didn't pay much attention to the taste of what they are eating due to their busy schedule.

Another flaw in the business manager's conclusion is the fact that if people of a particular vernacular mentioned 'butter' for margarine, then they might be situated in a particular locality in such a diverse country. Eg, in a diverse country like India, people of similar local languages live in different states. Similar in the case of Happy Pancake House, it might have happened that people from a particular locality have complained and others didn't. However, the argument does not mention any of these. The change taking place is in all the stores of Happy Pancake House, and not in a particular outlet.

The business manager has to take into consideration all of these factors before making any kind of conclusion.