The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal."A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situ

The author claims here that the levels of stimulation are higher in case of firstborn than their younger siblings, due to higher cortisol level. Stated in this way, the argument distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and by providing weak examples. To justify this conclusion, the author notes the recent study conducted on rhesus monkeys. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that a study conducted on eighteen monkeys would help to generalize the conclusion for the entire population. There might be thousands of rhesus monkeys all around the world, behaving differently than these eighteen. There is also a good chance that their reaction depends on the province in which the monkeys dwell. Editor does not mention any of this information. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it mentioned any study conducted over a larger population.

The argument readily claims that similar relation can be drawn in case of humans. Study mentioned is of the monkeys and generalized to humans. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the two species. To illustrate further, humans might have behaved differently as compared to monkeys. Their reaction to the stimulus might be due to some other hormone. If the argument provides evidence that another study conducted on humans then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader. Having billions of humans living in this world, the author claims that their behavior would be same as that of eighteen rhesus monkeys.

Finally, the author cites that first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol during pregnancy. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, how are the levels of cortisol in mothers body related to amount in the infant, what are the methods practiced to analyze the levels, how can the observation extrapolated to humans. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide better concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of study of effect of birth order to the level of stimulus. Finally, to better assess the survey, it would be necessary to know more information about how the data can be extrapolated to humans, and substantial evidence should be provided by conducting search on a larger population of monkeys.