The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author indicated that the study was centered around 18 monkeys, to provide a relationship between the order of births and the level of stimulation of an individual. Although some information might be deduced from the findings, there are still some vague areas, and thus no valid reasons to generalise to other animals or humans. Let me explain further.

First, the study was carried out on 18 monkeys. This number is too small to add any considerable relevance or germaneness to the topic. There are probably thousands of rhesus monkeys in the world, many of which might not be agitated by seeing an unfamiliar monkey. In addition to this, there are even other species of monkeys, different from the rhesus species, used for the study. There is a good chance that they would behave differently from what the study indicates. If the research was carried out on say 1000 monkeys, of different species, then the claims and explanation might be considered. But until then, the information seems vague and obscure.

In addition, the study focused on just monkeys and makes attempts to generalise to humans. That a first-born monkey showed signs of increase in cortisol levels, does not mean that humans will do exactly the same. The first born humans, might show increased hormonal levels, but this could be the result of a other circumstances, some of which could be hereditary. There is no clear correlation between the hormonal reactions of the monkeys and humans when faced with uncomfortable or exciting scenes, and thus the generalisation to humans, is more ambiguous than clear.

Furthermore, the study does not account for the relationship between the first-time monkey parents and their first offspring. That a first-time pregnant monkey was nervous, with increased levels of cortisol, does not mean that their first offspring would show similar signs. As stated earlier, they could have stronger but dissimilar genetic information. For the same reason, this should not be generalised to humans.

Lastly, although the number of monkeys under study was mentioned as 18, the number of human parent and offspring was not included. If 18 children (humans) were used for the study to make a generalisation, that would not be considered valid, because the sample space is just too small. Over 7 billion people live on this planet and each person has a different reaction to exciting or unfamiliar situations. In addition, if the study was carried out in just one geographical area, it still would not hold. People situated in the tropical regions have different behaviours compared to those of other much colder parts of the world.

In conclusion, the study might have started on a good note, exposing a new study area, but the explanations suggested by the author still possess some vagueness. More monkeys, of different species, and indeed humans, from different geographical locations, should be included in the study. Until the unclarity and obscurity are dealt with, the explanations and conclusion should not be generalised or accepted.