To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A country or state is often known by its major cities. These cities are more advanced and more developed. They give a better image of a country especially in the international stage. I agree that such information can be educative, but only to an extent. A society is more than just what we learn from its major cities, and there are other rustic or pastoral parts of the society which are definitely more informative.

Let us consider Nigeria. Lagos is the busiest city in the country, situated in the western region of the country. Lagos is the most populous city, and has the most advanced infrastructure and facilities. Most of the top companies in Lagos are headquartered in Lagos. And there are many job opportunities for youth in Lagos. Because of Lagos, Nigeria can compete confidently in international trade, with nearby African countries or countries from other continents. But Nigeria is more than just Lagos. Nigeria is a country with many ethnic groups, speaking many languages. In the eastern part of the country, you hear more of the Igbo language, while Hausa is more commonly spoken in northern Nigeria. The different tribes in Nigeria speak different languages and have dissimilar traditions. In addition, the way marriage ceremonies are conducted differ, and each tribe has its own history. All these, and more, add up to what is known as Nigeria. To understand the history of Nigeria, and its most important characteristics, it is vital to study other parts of Nigeria, and not just focus on Lagos alone.

Similarly, France is more than what its capital city, Paris, tell us. Paris is the unofficial fashion capital of the world. Many people travel to Paris to buy clothes and bags. Some other even settle there, and run their businesses. Thus in Paris you have people from many parts of the world, and the percentage of the real citizens of Paris drops. Other parts of France, especially the countryside, are probably into milk and cheese production than Paris. These parts are mainly occupied by French. Studying them would definitely give someone more understanding of France as a country.

I agree that for a country, the major cities help give a better image, especially in the international stage. But to get a full understanding of the important characteristics of the entire country, including the history and evolution, it is vital to study the other parts and not just a few major cities.