The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This is a letter from a homeowner to his friend. The writer compared the two leading real estate firms, Adams Realty and Fitch Realty. Although he included some figures to underpin him statement, there are also some assumptions and vague areas that need more clarity for his argument to hold.

First, the homeowner assumed that homes sell faster when listed on Adams Realty than when listed on Fitch Realty. He based his finding on his previous experience selling homes on both realties. However, that it took more than 4 months before he could sell his house on Fitch is not a very strong evidence that Fitch is a less effective realtor. There could have been other reasons the sale took more time. Perhaps the price placed on the housing property was too much for those that indicated interest. It could also be that the home is situated at a distant location from where the better market. And it is unfair to blame Fitch Realty for these. Their responsibility is to provide a platform for home sellers to put up properties for sale. They have not business manipulating the price and location of the properties.

Furthermore, the homeowner indicated that it took just about a month to sell a property on Adams, the previous year. Again, this is vague. The situation of this 10 years ago are most likely different from those of last year. Technology and information have become more wide spread today. It is possible that 10 years ago, both realties were not very technologically developed, taking much time (in months) to close a deal. As the realties became more developed, the time to close a deal became shorter. Therefore, it is unfair to judge Fitch Realty based on comparison between two very dissimilar periods of time. If the homeowner can include information of the duration of a deal on Adams Realty 10 years ago, it is possible that it took up to 5 months compared to 4 months at Fitch. Similarly, it probably took about 3 weeks to sell house on Adam’s Realty last year.

In addition to the different circumstance surrounding the different times, there is also some obscurity around the type, size, and quality of houses being sold. No information about the details and specifications of the houses are included in the letter. The house sold 10 years ago in Fitch was probably very large and spacious that it’s price was too high to pay. At the same time, it could have been too small that there was not much space in it. And the quality could have also been a factor under consideration that could have delayed the sale. In the same way, the house sold on Adams Realty last year, could have been the perfect choice for the buyer, closing the deal in under 1 month. Again, the realties are not to blame for this factors; they do not control the prices, type, space or quality of the houses on sale.

Another vague area is that the homeowner is just one person. He cannot generalise only from his findings. there are many other home sellers around who might insist that it takes less time to sell housing properties under Fitch Realty than any other. If the writer can collect more information from all other people, perhaps his argument would be considered. Until then, it all seems vague and unclear.

In conclusion, real estate is a very interesting business. To successfully, sell a home on a realty, many things are put into consideration. The size, type and quality of a house and some of them. The finding from the homeowner are not solid enough to indicate that Fitch Realty is a less effective realty. He needs more information and facts to prove this, before making a suggestion that his friend (and every other person) should use Adams Realty if he wants to sell a home much quickly and at a good price. Yes, more information is needed to clear the many vague areas.