The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This is a letter from a Central Plaza store owner to the editor. The owner is clearly concerned that business is dropping and goes on to blame the increased popularity of skateboarding. He also adds that the amount of litters and vandalism has increased and puts the culpability on the many skateboarders. Although he might be right, he has not included enough evidence to prove so. There are many vague areas that need clarification, and there are many questions that need to be answered.

First, the owner failed to put numbers to his reasons. What facts and figures are available to show that people have shifted from shopping to skateboarding? Have the same people who were once shoppers diverted to skateboarding? Clearly if the skateboarder were never shoppers, then the drop in business should be blamed on some other reason. Perhaps, it is a festive season and many shoppers have travelled to other countries. Perhaps, it is a sporting season, where most of the shoppers have gone to the sports stores in other plazas. It could also be a period of winter, and young people have flooded the streets and the plaza, engaging mainly in skateboarding and having no interest in shopping. We cannot certainly conclude from the findings in the owner’s claim, until these cryptic areas are made more clear.

Another question that should be answered relates to the increased amount of litter and vandalism. How sure is the owner, that the skateboarders are indeed to blame for the increased litter and vandalism? It could be from other people, for example passers-by. It could also be that the period in question has experienced a lot of robbery incidents. Any thief might have broken into a store, stolen some clothes, picked some food and drink, and dropped the refuse on the floor. Any random person might just drop refuse in the plaza without having any knowledge of or skill in skateboarding. Until the owner puts figures to his claim, we cannot firmly say that the skateboarder are responsible for the increase in vandalism and litter.

In addition, there is some uncertainty around prohibiting skateboarding. What makes the owner think that banning skateboarding will increase the business? Because there is every chance that the skateboarder are different people and have no experience shopping, they can find other places to skate, if such a ban is upheld. As a result, it would defeat the aim of increasing business, as assumed by the shop owner.

In conclusion, the shop owner is bothered that his business is underperforming, and blames it on the increase in skateboarding in the plaza. However, he fails to put facts and figures to his claim. There are a few vague areas and unanswered questions. Until these are attended to, it is hard to determine the real reason for the decline in the owner’s business.