The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership in any field is a very good skill for anyone to have, hence the importance to encourage the young people to develop and harness good leadership skills. But there are questions about which is best - a sense of cooporation or commpetition. I do not completely agree with the claim that instilling in the young people a sense of cooporation, versus competition, is the best way to prepare them for leadership. However, I suggest that an amalgam of both will produce the best results.

We live in a world where professionalism is key to the growth of any organisation today. Today's top business are run by individuals who follow good leadership principles. Google is one of the top information and technology companies in the world. Google is also a cooporate firm. There is a CEO, a CFO, and a CIO. Google will very likely not be where it is today, if not for these devoted individuals who tenaciously follow and adopt leadership principles. In addition, for Google to remain at this level in the future, it needs to make plans to prepare the next generation of leaders; individual that will follow and uphold true cooporative skills. Hence is it vital to encourage the young ones to understand and appreciate the essense of cooporation in leadership.

On the otherhand, cooporation should not stand alone as the sole factor for great leadership. Competition is equally important and tantamount to a successful leadership campaign. Today's world is very competitive. Consider again, Google as a case study. Very likely, the position of the Chief Executive will be highy sought after, by individuals who have been in the company for quite a while. These folks already understand the importance of having and sustaining a cooporative environment. Competition, at this stage is meant to put them at their best, and ensure that the eventual winner is most refined and ready to carry on responsibilities of a CEO. Without such competition, we cannot assert that the eventual occupant of a top leadership position will perform.

The world is constantly evolving and new generations are taking center stage, in making many decision today. People are occupying top leadership positions in government, industry and other fields, having harnessed good leadership qualities over the years. Young people, who are the future leaders, should be encouraged to understand the importance of both cooporation and competition as essential skills to posses in attaining leadership positions. No one is more vital than the other and I posit that the responsibility rests on the society to instill in the young ones, both cooporative and competitive skills.