Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In current news, we hear stories of a high-profile individuals involved in a political scandal or a top movie director entangled in a racial discrimination case. While some people opin that scandals are a distraction to some seemingly more-important problems in the society, I agree with the claim that scandals more often bring our attention to problems that we would not have heard of. This helps us create a better society for both the present and the future. I have a few examples to buttress my point.

Sexual abuse has been frowned upon for many decades. Even at this moment, we still here cases of sexual abuse, often by famous musicians, director or politicians. But what is even more striking is the increasing amount of ressurecting evidence, (or evidence from the past). It appears that there are many people, especially women, who have been previous assaulted sexually. Because such women are not famous people, they were never given the chance to express themselves. With a top politician in the news, relating to a sex scandal, we hear more about such hidden acts, done against the will of those women. Truly, without such scandals, those women (and others in similar positions) are able to share their stories and convict the guilty elite.

Another major topic in the news, is the issue of racism. There are many people of different races who have been abused because of their origin. We do not hear of these incidents, until a famous person is found guilty of racial discrimination. Such scandals often lead us into knowledge of other forms of racial discrimination, including that due to the color of one's skin or eyes. We often hear of cases of racial discrimination in the movie industry, the sporting world and the political scene. But very likely, there are numerous others that we do not hear about, until a scandal in opened up in the news.

Additionally, there are many corruption scandals in politics. In my country Nigeria, we often hear of politicians trying to bribe their way into positions of power. Many of such cases are not talked about and we do not know of them. But when one of such politicians in exposed, others follow. One scandal opens up another one and yet another one - it might have no near end. Without the first scandal brought to light, we would not learn and be informed of the indecent happenings around us.

In conclusion, scandals can be very unpleasant to talk about, especially for the person at the center of the discussion. Although some people feel that they distract us from seemingly more important problems of the society, I posit that the scandals, if properly analysed, often inform and educate us more about some hidden and illicit deals, and crimes that have been committed, both in the past and in recent times.