Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education has become very vital in our society. I come from Nigeria, where many of the youths are illiterate, spending most of their time on the streets. The educational sector has become important in creating a movement towards a better developed and informed society. And the institutions, including universities and colleges play a vital role in building our next generation. However, students have different interests; some of them might seem certain to succeed, while others seem otherwise. It is very tempting to believe that education institutions should discourage their students from taking up career choices that seem very unlikely to be successful. However, I do not agree totally with this claim. Institutions should not discourage students from following their interests.

Different people make different judgements on certain cases in different ways. A student might not be the most intelligent or brilliant in his math class, but might have the highest level of determination and might be interested I becoming an Engineers in the future. If a lecturer should discourage that student from attending math class, without understanding where the interests lie, it shows poor judgement on the side of the lecturer (or institution). Micheal Jordan was kicked out of a sports team, because his coach felt he wasn’t skilled enough. But he has become an icon to many basketball aspirants around the world.

In addition, giving such feedback to that student might make him or mar him. People tend to handle feedback in many different ways. That student might become even more determined to become an engineer and put in extra effort. In such a case, this resilience is an invaluable trait, that would likely take him far in life. On the other hand, if that student sits back and feels discouraged, it would have a more negative impact on his life. The real essence of having education institutions is to build up the next generation of citizens and leader and not to discourage them.

Furthermore, there is a saying that experience is the best teacher in life. A person learns from the mistakes that he makes. Life teaches different lessons in many different ways. The experiences of one person might be similar or different from those of another person. If institutions always discourage their students from trying out things, or venturing into risky career paths, they might not have enough opportunity to practice things, make their own mistakes and learn from life’s experiences. But the more mistakes they make, the more lessons they learn. Every successful person on this planet, has gone through many different failures. The real trait of success lies in the ability to rise up and try again. Having institutions discourage students this way, would defeat the aim of building up the next generation of resilient leaders.

In conclusion, the educational institutions are vital in guiding our students in the correct path. But when students show signs of underperformance, that the institutions feel such careers paths are risky, then it might be tempting to have these institutions advice against the paths in question. I disagree with this. I believe this might have a longer negative effect on the students. On the other hand, they would learn more from the mistakes that they make in life.