The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, suggests that more allocation should be made towards advertising to ensure reviews reach more of the public. However, the reasons given for this recommendation are questionable.

First, the memo does not include some facts or figures which might serve as evidence and clear some vagueness. What percentage of people actually gave their reviews of Super Screen movies in the last year? What percentage of all reviews were actually good. The claim says that the percentage of positive reivew increased, but this increase might just be from 5% to 6%, meaning that more than 90% of the reviewers actually gave negative reviews. If the director should prove that this percentage is still more than 70% (at least), then the assumptions will be verified.

Secondly, the director recommends that the budget on advertising should be increased, in order to reach more of the public. He assumes that the public is less aware of the availability of good movies from the company. However, this is not justified, and leaves some unanswered questions. What are the qualities of a good movie? There is every possiblity that the movies from Super Screen are not as good as the director claims. Who are the people that actually rate a movie as good or not so good? Until such information is available to describe the features of good and quality movies, there is still some uncertainty with the director's assumptions.

Furthermore, even if the movies from the company are verified as top quality, the argument does not relate such movies to those of other companies. For example, 20% of the public might agree that the movies from Super Screen Production Company are rated at more than 75%. The remaining 80% might insist that movies from another company, say UltraCinema, are rated at more than 90%. In this case, if the movies from Super Screen are good, other companies could be making much better productions. As such, increasing the budget on allocation will not do as much good as the director claims. Perhaps other areas need to be looked into - the actors in their movies, how palatable their movies are, or the type of messages being passed across.

The memo from the director is a recommendation for more allocation to advertising. But the reasons given for the claims are not solid. Some questions (like above) need to be answered, and there is no certainty that an increased advertising budget will result in more reach to the public and make them more aware of the movies from the company.