The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighbouring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter to the editor, shows that one of the popular forms of transportation in Balmer Island is the moped, and in the summer, the population of the island increases to 100,000. The letter also indicates that the number of moped accidents have increased as more mopeds are rented out. The writer, thus, advises that the number of mopeds rented daily by the rental companies, should be reduced by 50%, during the summer period. Although the writer includes some interesting facts to underpin his claim, there are still some vague and obscure areas and some questions that need to be answered, to validate the claim.

First, the writer did not include figures that show how the number of moped rentals relate with the number of moped accidents in the summer. What facts and figures are there to prove that the number of moped rentals are directly tied to the number of moped accidents? Some of the accidents might have occurred as a result of other circumstances. And some of the mopeds involved in accidents might actually be owned by individuals. Therefore, we are not certain that limiting the number of rentals per day, will actually reduce the number of accidents. Until a better correlation is presented, this argument is still an assumption.

Secondly, the writer indicates that the if the number of rentals are qualified, the town council will attain 50% reduction in moped accidents. How sure is the writer that the council will attain 50% reduction in moped accidents? Again, this is merely an assumption. There is not data to back it up. Building on the fact that there are probably other causes of moped accidents, it is still not certain that limiting the number of rentals will reduce ensure the 50% reduction hoped for. It does not cater for the number of moped accidents involving privately-owned mopeds.

Additionally, the writer goes on to indicate that Seaville, a nearby island achieved the said 50% reduction by taking up similar measure. But the letter does not take into account, the possible difference in the two islands. Is the standard of living in Balmer Island the same in Seaville Island?There is every possible chance that the Seaville Island is more developed than Balmer Island. The probably have more safety measures in place to prevent moped accidents, that when they reduced the number of moped rentals, they were able to achieve the 50% mark.

The writer clearly brings to light a topic of deep interest. But some of the facts mentioned are arguable. There are a couple of questions that need to be answered, and we cannot confirm, from the letter, that by limiting the number of moped rentals by 50%, the number of accidents will be reduced, or the town council will attain the desired 50% mark. Additionally, the comparison between the two islands does not accurately hold, because the standard of living in the two islands would very likely differ.