Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

While I agree with the claim that today's governments should ensure to adequately fund their cities in order to thrive, I disagree with the reason put foward that the cities possess the cultural traditions of a country.

A country is known internationally mainly by its cities. The major cities of a country are mostly the most developed and industralised. They have the most advanced technologies and the education system in the cities are at higher levels that those in the rural areas. It is vital that these amenities and facilities are maintained, and that is the responsibility of the government. They need to direct the adequate finances to ensure the these facilities are maintained and optimized.

However, I disagree with the reason for the claim. A country is known and venerated internationally, mainly by how developed and advanced its cities are, and not by the cultural traditions, much of which they do not really possess. Many of the top cities in the world are known because of industralisation, modernisation and civilisation. Let us consider Paris, the Frech capital. Many people visit Paris from other countries to buy clothes and expand their fashion businesses. This makes Paris, and indeed France to thrive in the international stage, and benefit from the number of transactions carried out within it. Therefore the French government should put in the right amount of money to develop Paris. It is not because of the cultural traditions in Paris. Note that many known French traditions are not really extant in Paris, but in other parts of the country.

On the other hand, the rustic and bucolic parts of a country should not be left out in financial allocations by its government. The rural parts of France are known to preserve and generate most of the culture and traditions that France is known for, including milk and cheese production. It is the responsibility of the French government to develop all parts of the country.

In conclusion, it is the government's responsibility to ensure that both the cities and the rural parts are given the adequate funding. The cities need the right amount to maintain and develop the infrastructure and technologies. This is because they help give a better international image of the country, and not because of the cultural traditions. Indeed it is the pastoral towns and countryside communitites that give better information about the culture and tradition of a country.