The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to

The argument concludes that in order to increase the number of volunteers for charitable activities, Pleasantville High School should make it compulsory for all the students to complete 40 hours of community service. The argument is based on many assumptions and needs to be scrutinized efficiently.

Firstly, before taking any kind of action to nullify the decline in the number of volunteers, one should understand the reason behind the decrease. It might have happened that the school board might have increased the workload on students, due to which they are unable to opt for community service. The school hours might have increased or many students could be engaged in some sports or other extra-curricular activities. Compelling these students for community service would be restricting them from their area of interests. It could have happened that the awareness required among the students regarding social service is not up to the mark as it was before. Because of which students are not taking interest in social activities.

Secondly, it is important that social activities are done out of the will of a person and not by compelling them to do so. The students might not show the required interest for the activity and would do such things for the sake of it. Rather than directly including this program as a compulsion on the High School students, the School Board should think of starting small tasks right from the primary stages of education. It is important to develop interest of students in this service. Students might then find alternatives to circumvent such a compulsion.

Thus, the School Board should analyze the reason of decline and then take necessary action and also work for imbibing interests for these activities among the students from earlier stages of learning.