The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in a

The above argument concludes that the Super Screen should allocate greater share of its budget for advertising in the coming year to reach the public. To support this conclusion, the author states various analysis of the trends of decrease in number of viewers in spite of higher percentage of positive reviews. The conclusion seems feasible at first glance, however, careful scrutiny reveals the assumptions and baseless premises that the author makes. Hence, the argument seems unsubstantial and needs further support.

First of all, the advertising director seems to make an assumption that the number of viewers depend on the number of people attending the movies in theater. The director should make conclusion based on the number of viewers rather than the attendees. It might have happened that many people viewed the movies at their residence. Thus, the director should consider the number of viewers, to arrive at the conclusion.

Further the author assumes that the lesser number of people attending the movies is due to the lack of awareness about the movies. This again is an assumption based on unsupported grounds. The director should consider other factors for comparison, like "Was there any kind of increase in the cost of tickets which many people could not afford?", "Do they get time out of their commitment for watching movies?", "Due to the advancement in technology due to which the movies are now available on telephones and televisions, which everyone can view at ease and affordable, was there any increase of viewers from these devices?". Director should thus provide tangible evidence about these factors to make the argument more convincing for the readers.

Finally, the author says there was a rise in the "percentage" of good reviews. However, actual number of good and total reviews is not mentioned. The author should answer doubts like "How many people reviewed the movie the previous year as well as the years before that?". Hence, credulous statistics of the reviews needs to provided. Otherwise readers might think of the argument being a result of wishful thinking of the author.

In conclusion, the author needs to provide additional premise on the above grounds and conduct a trustworthy survey for analysis before making a conclusion of rise in budget.