“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending m

The statement concludes that it is feasible to use an unmanned space flight as compared to a manned space flight. To support this conclusion, the author states various statements regarding the costs and risks involved. The author speaks about the costs incurred in the case of manned space flight an also the risk of life involved in the same. The argument at the first glance seems convincing in all its terms. However, a closer look at each of the premise poses anomalies present in the conclusion.

First of all, the author does not state any evidence about the cost of an unmanned space flight. There is a clear mention of the manned space flights to be costly, however, the cost of the unmanned flight is not mentioned. This poses a problem in the overall comparison of the two costs and an inappropriate way of concluding that the unmanned space flights are economical.

Secondly, the argument mentions the cases of sending an unmanned space flight. Any kind of detailed analysis of the trials conducted is not mentioned. The premise on which those trials were successful is also not mentioned. There is not a single example of the dangers associated with a manned flight. Any one example would have supported the conclusion of the argument.

There is a mention of recent cases of unmanned flight, on the other hand, none of the recently conducted manned space flight is mentioned. There is a possibility that recent advances in technology might have decreased the costs as well as dangers of using manned space flight. Current studies in this field might have helped mankind to explore effective ways and favorable methods, that are less risky for a manned space flight. Using new materials found might have helped in decreasing the overall costs of the flight.

The data being collected by the unmanned flight is mentioned to be profound than the manned flight. However, we should also consider the fact that the quality of the data provided is more important than just the quantity. There is no mention of the quality of information sent. There is a possibility that a manned space flight might have provided a concise, brief data of all the information required by the mission. Counter to which an unmanned space flight might have just sent volumes of data, analyzing which poses a great task to the researchers.

Summing up, I would like to conclude that the conclusion of the author needs to be supported by the factors mentioned above.