Claim: The emergence of the online "blogosphere" has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably

The above statement claims that the neologisms of the internet world, mainly "Blogosphere" has deteriorated the political discourse in the country, reason being that any person can easily publish his/ her views publicly through this platform. I do not completely agree with this claim.

Firstly, in the current world of freedom and individuality, blogs turn out to be a great platform for individuals to put forth their ideas about any particular issue. In today's world, everyone believes in the principle of democracy and Freedom of Speech and searches for a suitable stage for their views. Blogs in this case help, by being one such platform.

Secondly, during the season of elections, understanding the views of the common people becomes the important point for all the political parties, in order to win the contest. Blogs in such a case provide first-hand information, of what the people want out of the government and at what stage the party in authority is functioning.

Thirdly, while campaigning for any good cause, or for providing any exigent news that is to be spread among people through the government, Blogs turn out to be an effective way of publicizing.

On the other hand, the freedom of speech on blogs can turn out to be harmful as claimed above. There are always some notorious people who spread a lot of rumors and calumny about any eminent person through these platform. As many people are active on such blogs, spreading rumors has become an easy job for anyone.

Summing up, I would like to conclude that Blogosphere has provided an astounding platform for everyone to put their views, but we as an user should decide whether to believe in any of them or not. The freedom given should not be misused, or properly monitored over, to ensure efficient use of the innovation.