The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The issue brings up the idea of training young people in a sense of cooperation rather than competition to prepare them for leadership in government, industry, or any other field. Although, competition is necessary for one to improve and be at par with their companions, nevertheless, a cooperative leader will definitely motivate the employees to perform better. Hence I would argue that cooperation is an important attribute for leadership.

First of all, when we think about a "leader", the image is of a persn who works in harmony with his team, guides them and helps them and the organisation to improve. Thus cooperation seems an important pre-requisite for a person to become a leader. To illustrate this point further, let us take an example of two firms, A and B. Let us say firm A is governed by a person who believes in competition rather than cooperation and hence brags his employees about each and every deadline. On the other hand firm B is governed by a person who believes in cooperation. He works alongwith his employees in achieving targets and deadlines. In these circumstances clearly, the employees of firm B will be happier due to the cooperative and helpful attitude of their leader, and hence perform better, while employees of firm A will continue to feel demotivated. Clearly, for the healthy and progressive functioning of a company, cooperative leader is required.

Further, instilling a sense of cooperation in young people, will help them to work efficiently in any kind of group, they will understand the importance of team work. They might also to help a team member, who might be slow in learning, to cope up with the studies and working. When we talk about competition, it becomes very difficult for the person who is slow in learning to commensurate and eventually leads to demotivation. Thus by personal experience and common sense, it will be helpful to have cooperative leaders than competitive.

Admittedly, competition helps everyone to keep continuously improving and be at par with the society. It will help the firms to continuously achieve greater targets. However, employee satisfaction is important than rising deadlines. On humanity grounds, if you keep employees happy and motivated, they will perform and better and eventually result in achieving higher targets.

In conclusion, it is clear that instilling sense of cooperation is a vital part for creating future leaders. We need to teach young people to be a "Leader" and not a "Boss" of the organisation they join, later in life. Having a good team is less important than having a good and motivated leader, who can work along with any kind of team, is important.