“Scientific theories, which most people consider as ‘fact,’ almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should look upon any information described as ‘factual’ with skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your viewpoint, consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

It cannot be refuted that some scientific theories have been proven false since man started to better understand the world he lives in. And even though some are still viewed to be facts and others are not, it does not mean new scientific theories should not be given an iota of trust. The above assertion states that all information should be viewed with scepticism - I partly agree and partly disagree.

To begin with, many scientific theories that apply to nature and are proven can be trusted. For instance, Newton’s theories of motion; all three can be applied to daily events. Such a theory can be viewed without scepticism. The first one which says a body already in motion or a body that is still will not change its state unless an external force is applied to stop it or set it in motion. This is evidently true and cannot be rebutted. The second one that says that a force is directly proportional to the impulse of bodies, as well as the third that says action and reaction are equal and opposite are all evidently true.

In support of the above, scientific theories that are in use or have been used to create things can be viewed without scepticism. When a particular theory that has been proven factual is used for application in any invention, it is instantly viewed to be true. Take for example electromagnetism and electricity. These broad areas of science have proven theories that are used in various applications - from machines to the power we use on a daily basis. Electromagnetism tells us that when inductance developed in a magnetic material makes it capable of storing charges and additional force causes the charges to move, electricity is created. Undoubtedly, such a theory cannot be viewed with scepticism.

However, in the earlier times when the advent of technology had not reached this height and when proper equipment for experimenting and testing were not available, scientific theories were not fully trusted. It is convincing since professors that had to review such theories that came could not even make proper testing and evaluation as of today. The theory that the earth was flat had to be viewed with scepticism. On the contrary, today technology has made it simple. There are satellites dishes roaming in space, there are high electronic microscopes for researches and professors are able to make informed decisions of how factual a theory is today.

So even though certain information should be viewed with scepticism, theories that apply to life and events and those that are in use can be seen to be factual.