The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Teaching has been known for ages. We learn every day despite our age and we tend to teach every day; both come directly and indirectly. It is a fact that teaching styles differ from one person to the other and it is most evident in academic settings where no two teachers teach the same subject material the same way. It cannot be refuted that how receptive a student is, depends to a greater percentage, on the one who is teaching. The assertion presented states that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions which I agree with totally but also states that negative actions should be ignored which raises the argument. I do not agree that the negative ones should be ignored.

To begin with, a student in any setting will not know what to deem as a negative action until he is told or alerted. For instance, when a baby starts to learn how to speak, it is receptive to anything it hears and can pronounce. In most cases, parents begin to talk with modesty and try to prevent saying bad words but unfortunately, parents are not able to take full control what the baby learns. The baby ends up picking up bad words eventually. My point is since the baby is naïve to the bad and good and so will have to be thought when the time to segregate is due. Another example; when I started working as a cashier in a wholesale store, I did not know most of the rules so I had to be thought. For instance, that going for lunch is compulsory after six hours of work and without adhering, a punishment was going to be meted to you.

Also, praising positive actions absolutely good because it encourages the student. When a student does a good deed and is praised, the enthusiasm he feels makes him yearn to do more so that the praise will keep coming. In the work setting, employees are recognized and awarded when they are productive or go beyond a mark. The praises sometimes come in the form of incentives and bonuses. That alone is a form of encouragement to do more and to others.

Additionally, stringent teachers see good results. Even though praise is good, when a teacher is strict, the students turn out to be disciplined. It is human nature to break rules and overlook the power of authorities when negative actions are ignored. It is very evident in high schools where most students have reached adolescence and rebel against authority. When strict punishments are meted on rule breakers, it deters others from repeating and brings about discipline.

However, one may argue that when the student is educated or is made aware beforehand about the negative actions, they would not do it at all. Like in Sunday schools where kids are thought good from wrong. But it is a fact that, that does not often deter some kids from misbehaving. That is why punishment is good.

I do not agree with the assertion because a person will not know bad from wrong when not thought and even when he is thought, meting out punishment puts him in the right place. Being stringent results in discipline and praising good action encourage more good actions.