“Because people increasingly eat at restaurants, all restaurants should be required to display nutritional information about the meals they serve. This knowledge makes it easier for diners to make healthy choices and reduces the risk of diet-related health problems.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your viewpoint, consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true. (Use a separate sheet of paper or a computer to write your essay.)

The increasing demand of work and responsibilities of individuals have resulted in less time spent in the kitchen to prepare meals. Consequently, eating at restaurants become inevitable. The suggestion that restaurants should display the nutritional information of meals is important and a good idea, even so, it does not necessarily mean the healthy choices of diners will be affected. I do not agree with the assertion per se.

Though healthy choices of meals are possible by seeing, the knowledge of the importance of eating healthy will supersede it. Eating healthy is an issue in a place like America where junk foods are not rare and are ever ready for purchase. Statistically, it is even the highest kind of food manufactured in factories as well as made in most restaurants. The knowledge of knowing the effects of these foods will give diners a source of direction and stance.

Moreover, the knowledge of the importance of eating healthy is not enough. The discipline of the diners also matters, as most unhealthy foods are attractive and easily made. To talk about taste, unhealthy foods have better taste than healthy ones. A comparison can be made between taking soda which has fructose corn syrup to taking natural fruit juice. An individual that have grown accustomed to that will not find fruit juice with no added sugar as a good substitute. There lies the act of overlooking which is a major factor to unhealthy diet.

Also the fact that every individual have their own nutritional need, makes defining healthy food difficult. The dietary need of person A may differ from person B, so the knowledge of knowing what one’s body need is also an important factor. Getting to know your dietary need will come from a specialist of which most people do not think of doing.

The general way of eating healthy which includes reducing the intake of sugar, drinking a lot of water and eating a lot of vegetables and fruits is not particularly practised by majority of people. And so displaying nutritional information of meals in restaurants does not change the choices of diners except they have the knowledge of eating healthy, they have the discipline of eating healthy and know their nutritional needs.