The following is from a recent email by the Diord Corp. Human resources Manager:

“Tobor technologies found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about 15 percent of employee sick days. Tobor amended its employee insurance plan so that workers receive the same coverage for mental illnesses as they do for physical illness. In addition, the company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system that allow workers to schedule confidential appointments. After one year, the number of employees that used sick days declined by 10 percent. Diord has had an increase in employee sick days over the past two years, so we should introduce a similar insurance plan and counselling program. These measures will surely reduce absenteeism and increase in productivity.”

The argument presented states that Tobor technologies had an increase in employee sick days which was dealt with by the company hiring an on-site psychologist. The Diord Corp. have assurance that since it worked for the other company, it was going to work for them as well. Although the argument seems cogent at first glance, the assumptions made are vague and should be considered more deliberately to make the argument lucid and reasonable.

First of all, it was stated that fifteen percent of the employee sick days for Tobor technologies was due to mental health problems. This was stated without prove nor was the source of the information mentioned. The credibility of this statistic cannot be taken for what it is. It could have been reported by one of the employees in the company who has just a vague idea of what actually goes on in the company judging from what he or she has heard. Such an information cannot be relied on. The author assumes that the statistic presented is a representation of a whole which might not be so.

Additionally, the actual cause for the sick days of Diord Corp. was not stated. It was not mentioned whether it was because of mental health issues like for the other company; the increase that has been realized was just mentioned. The assumption made is that the increase in sick days of the employees in Diord Corp. was also due to mental health issues. Also, even if the cases were comparable for both companies, the fact that hiring a psychologist worked for the other company does not mean it was going to work for Diord Corp. Perhaps another alternative can be thought of – when a better survey is conducted to find the actual cause of employee absenteeism. The author does not only assume the cases are comparable with just the little and insufficient information gathered, but also assumes that the only alternative is to introduce a similar health insurance plan.

Furthermore, the cost involved in changing the insurance plan of the company was not mentioned, neither was the cost involved in hiring an on-site psychologist mentioned. The companies may have different wealth or income earnings. The author needs to consider how this will affect the company’s profit and how it can be implemented. Assuming that the cost will be affordable on the base level is by no means a good idea.

There are a lot of considerations to be made to make this argument logical. It includes getting a reliable statistic, finding the actual cause of employee absenteeism in the company concerned, considering other ways to go about the whole issue, and thinking about the cost involved in implementing.