The following is from a recent email from the Diord Corp. Human Resources Manager: “Tobor Technologies found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about 15 percent of employee sick days. Tobor amended its employee insurance plan so that workers receive the same coverage for mental illness as they do for physical illness. In addition, the company hired an on-site psychologist and created a system that allows workers to schedule confidential counseling appointments. After one year, the number of sick days used by employees declined by 10 percent. Diord Corp. has had an increase in employee sick days over the past two years, so we should introduce a similar insurance plan and counseling program. These measures will surely reduce employee absenteeism and cause an increase in productivity.”

The email states that Diord Corp should apply the same inniatives that Tobor Technologies did to tackle its increasal in sick days from empoyers related to mental health. Given the arguments from the text, however, it is not clear that these actions will increase employee's productivty and reduce sick days. Still, mental health is an important issue in companies and even if the results in terms of productivity were not true, it could still be a viable action to increase the life quality of employees.

According to the email, by tackling mental health problems by complementing the company's insurance plan adding extra coverage for mental illness, Tobor Technologies saw a decrease in the percentage of sick days that the employees took. Specificaly the text claims 10 percentage decline in the number of sick days. However, the text does not specify where the 15 percentage initial employee sick days originaly came from. It could have been an one year period, or one month, or 1 week. With a shorter period, this opens up margin for variations in the size of the population. Also, there is not confidence interval in the measure. Therefore, the 10 percentage decrease could be inside this interval margin, with no stastiticaly difference between the sick days taken before and after the measures from Tobor Technologies.

Also, Diord does not state the reason of the absense of its employees. The sick days from Diord could be related to anything other than mental health, and the increase in the employees absense could be in any area, such as physicial insuries in workplace. Also, even if the sick days where actually related to mental health, Tobor Technlogies is a completely different company from Diord Comp and, while if the innitives that Tobor did worked in their company might be an indicative that it might work on Diord, it does not automatically mean that they will actually work.

With all of this in mind, the text does not give sufficient arguments to claim that the actions will certainly improve employee's productivity at Diord. Still, it might be a good moment for Diord to invest on its employee's mental health.