“Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to
the protection of national security.”
Respecting civil laws is a obligation of both the population and the government to ensure that there
is a harmonious living in community. Goverments, in specific, should
respect the laws even when national security is endangered, unless there is
approval from population to bypass the current rules.
This cenario is important considering that these rules were made in a democratic process and not
respecting them could lead to a loss of the democracy stabilished in so many countries.
There are certainly some occasions when circumventing civil laws for national security could be
important. For instance, there could a certain rule which says that the country should be
open for any person from another place. However, in one occasion, there could be a dissease spreading
accross different locations in the globe, and the government decides that closing the borders temporarily
would be necessary to ensure the integrity of its citizens. Even if this is agaisnt the stabilished laws,
if the population agrees with that, it should be a valid reason to not follow the rules.
On the other hand, defining what is vital or not can be challenging. How to know if a circunstance
is crucial? This opens the possibility of the government affirming that acting on something is vital
for national security so it can act agaisnt the laws in a non democratic process. If this was possible,
any action from the goverment could be explained with this argument. Given the case of recent protests
in Hong Kong and Chile, for example, the government could explain that killing protestors would be
necessary the national security, which could only benefit the governemnt by shutting down prostests
while not addressing the issues related to it. This would be agaisnt democracy.
Therefore, the process of bypassing civil rules should either pass through the validation process
such voting of the population via polls. This would ensure that, while Governments
can indeed not follow civil laws in crucial moments related to national security, they would not act
freely just for their own good.