People most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it.

Respecting something happens when there is a feeling of appreciating in the powerful. Once it exercises its power over something, specially if it is not expected and not compatible to the action required at the moment, it leads to reduction of the respect of others towards it. While it might have been true that the powerful was respected in the past once they exercised their power, there is evidence that it is not like anymore. In this new scenario, not showing their power is more respected.

There could be some that argue that the respect come from showing off how powerful you are. For instance, wars until before the 20th century were mostly countries showing off others how more powerful they were, by attacking enemies, conquering lands and robbing the citizens from this new land. However, taking a deeper look at more recent times - such as the Second World War, when in Germany the nazists showed their power by killing millions of people and in USA where they throwed nuclear bombs in Japan to also show how much more powerful they were - did not create a feeling of respect. Actually, these moments are claimed as a moment of shame by those two countries, with their own citizens not being proud of it. This can be seen in the holocaust memorial in Germany and in policies agaisnt nuclear war by USA.

On the other hand, the powerful who do not exercise their power are seen as more respectful nowadays. Google, a company created only in the end of the 20th century, is a showcase for this, being one of the most powerful companies in the world by having billion of users worldwide. Their motto is "don't be evil". This is aligned with the concept of not showcasing their power to other people, which can also be seen when they do not explicitely attack other rival companies, and actually create a better product instead of eating the competition. With this in mind, there is no doubt that, even if Google does not usually exercise its power, it is for sure one of the most respected companies in the globe, being a childposter of a good company. Therefore, even without showing their power, this company was able to attain respect from people from all conners from the world.

In conclusion, by being the powerful and showing it does not make something respectful, it can actually bring shame in future by looking how unmeasurable the showcase of power was. Instead, being powerful and acting in a good will without exercising power brings admiration and respect from people.