“The powerful are most respected not when they exercise

their power, but when they refrain from exercising it.”

When do people generally respect the most powerful? During their term of power or when they have refrained from exercising power? While some people argue that the most powerful get respected when they are no longer exercising their power, true and deep respect is found only when the most powerful person displays his power to others. There can be no doubt that the world’s most powerful people would no longer be respected if they were to stay ascetic life without exercising their power. After weighing the evidence, it is certain that the people usually respect one who has been indulging himself into utilizing the power, instead of refraining it.

Adolf Hitler is surely one of the most powerful people in the history of world leaders, who have in no way abandoned exercising his power and make his people aware that he was the most valuable and topmost leader of his time. This sort of dictatorship made people scared and he would receive a lot of respect wherever he would be, no matter how horrified the people would be. Like Adolf Hitler there existed many powerful leaders at the same time, but none of them were respected by the public as was Hitler. This was all because they were not drilling to implement their power as done stunningly by Hitler.

Similarly, one of the well-stated goals of China’s military progress was so that other countries would either love and respect them or fear with them. Thus, it is clear that people have respect for those who display their power. Also consider the powerful personalities like Bill Gates who have the ability to bestow gifts of charity on the less fortunate, who gets respect from the poor in return and are held in high esteem by the public.

On the other hand, showing restraint to display power can also attract respect. One example of the government of India’s recent decision to discount the loan that the farmers had to pay in debt, has been highly praised by the locals of the nation and the agriculture development board of India. Furthermore, the news that the government has decided to provided pesticides and insecticides to the farmers free of cost lends credence to the view that restraint of power is what people tend to respect for.

Like India, Indonesia’s recent decision to commute the death sentence of prisoners has brought high praise from the critics and the human rights association around the world. While many protestors of the current government were arrested in Israel last month, the freedom of speech and press that has been implemented by the Indonesian government has been widely accepted by the world.

Ultimately, considering both sides of the issue, it can be concluded that respect is engendered when a person in power utilizes his power. This is because at first analysis we may think one who restrains power is more exalted by the people, but once we compare this class with the one who uses and shows off the power, they receive consistent and truly deep respect from the public. Would restrained use of power deserves more respect then why often would an exculpated criminal do the same crime again and again? If anything, restraining of power only yields less respect which serves as a contrast, so we can actually understand what true respect is when one utilizes his power.