The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balm

The author presents the argument stating that by reducing the number of mopeds that can be rented in Balmer Island can reduce the number of accidents, and presents the comparison with the island of Torseau that enforced such similar limits. The author fails to prove the argument as it is infected with flaws.

The author fails to provide the link based on real evidence between reducing the number of rented mopeds in Torseau island and its effect on the accidents happening in a lesser number. The reason for accidents occurring in Balmer Island is not researched as well as the cause behind them is not mentioned at all. Even if the number is decreased in Balmer island then it is not truly possible that the result will be the same as that of Torseau Island.

There can be other measures taken by the Town Council of Balmer Island as it is likely that the authorities in Torseau have clubbed some other activities with the limitation on moped rentals. Such activities might include conducting tourist safety sessions, separating the driving and the pedestrian lanes, providing public transportation to groups of tourists so that the journeys are well monitored and safely handled, etc. Implementing these measures can positively cut the number of accidents in Balmer which are not at all considered by the author.

The author also fails to discuss the issue of how the tourists will travel in Balmer Island if the population is flooding in the summer months as reducing the number of rented mopeds can make it difficult for the tourists to explore the island. The statistics of the population in Torseau Island and its analogy with Balmer island is completely neglected by the author.

In consideration of all the above-stated viewpoints, it can be concluded that the author fails to convince the reader. The authorr could have substantiated his claim by proving similarities between Balmer and Torseau and convincing the reader that the implementation of similar laws would have the same effects in both the islands. Therefore, in its present form, the given argument is flawed and unconvincing due to lack of adequate evidence in support of its claim.